Industry Member of the Year Award

SNA's Industry Member of the Year Award

This award recognizes the outstanding contributions of industry members who demonstrate exemplary support to SNA, SNA members, and their professional communities nationwide. Each year, one industry member is selected to receive this prestigious award. The recipient must be employed by a Corporate Member Company of SNA. The first annual Individual Industry Member of the Year Award was presented in 2003.

Eligibility Criteria

The nominee must be a current SNA Industry Member and have been an active member in SNA at the national level and the state level for the past five (5) consecutive years. Current SNA Industry Advisory Council Chair is not eligible.

SNA's Industry Member of the Year Award
The 2021 Industry Member of the
Year Award was presented to
Wanda McDowell of Super Bakery

Who May Nominate

Nominations may only be submitted by the Current Board of Directors, SNA Past Presidents, chairs of the SNA Standing Committees, and Past Industry Award recipients. Nominators may submit only one nomination each year. An acknowledgement of the nomination, a Personal Data Application and questionnaire will be forwarded to the nominee.

How to Nominate

The completed Nomination Form must be sent to SNA Headquarters via email, ATTN: Business Development & Meetings Center / Crystal Harper-Pierre to Nominations must be received by SNA Headquarters by Monday, February 28, 2022.


The five (5) Immediate Past National Presidents of SNA and the SNA Chief Executive Officer (CEO) will select the awardee. In the event one or more of the five Immediate Past National Presidents of the SNA is unable to serve as a judge; the next most recent Past National President shall be appointed in his/her place.

Judging Criteria

The following areas will be considered:

  • Length of SNA Membership
  • Work experience while employed by Industry
  • Service to SNA at the National Level, including Board and/or Committee Work and promotion of SNA membership, meetings, and initiatives
  • Attendance at, and participation in, SNA National Conferences and Meetings, including conference planning and conference involve involvement beyond exhibiting (i.e., culinary demonstrations, speaking, moderating or facilitating sessions)
  • Actions that help promote school nutrition
  • Involvement with other groups who promote School Nutrition Programs
  • Awards and/or recognition of support to child nutrition and hunger advocacy
  • Attendance at and participation in State Affiliate(s) Conferences

Industry Member of the Year Award Winners

Name   Company   Year Won  
Wanda McDowell Super Bakery
Jose Quinones J.T.M. Food Group
Gary Vonck
Key Impact Sales & Systems
Mary Begalle SunOpta Foods
Mike Burke
Scott Swogger AccuTemp
Tracey Tinder 
ConAgra Foodservice
Stacy Sagowitz 
School Nutrition Services
Sean Leer 
Gold Star Foods
Barbara Jirka 
McCain Foods
Tony Roberts 
The Tony Roberts Company
Jill Conklin 
Winston Industries
Chuck Ainsworth 
SFSPac Food Service Sanitation Systems
Camellia Patey 
National Dairy Council
Mimi Ford 
J & J Snack Foods
Pat McCoy 
Schwan's Food Service
Tami Cline 
Cline Consulting
Jean Harris  
Pierre Foods
Shirley Brown 
Rich Products

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media
> Work With US

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More