About the Award

This award recognizes the outstanding contributions of industry members who demonstrate exemplary support to SNA, SNA members, and their professional communities nationwide. Each year, one industry member is selected to receive this prestigious award. A Corporate Member Company of SNA must employ the recipient. The first annual Individual Industry Member of the Year Award was presented in 2003.

Eligibility Criteria

The nominee must be a current SNA Industry Member and have been an active member of SNA at the national level and the state level for the past three (3) consecutive years. The current SNA Industry Advisory Council Chair is not eligible.

Who May Nominate

All industry members, including corporate affiliates, corporate officials and industry individuals (consultants), can nominate and self-nominate for this award (as of 2024). Nominations are also accepted from the current Board of Directors, SNA Past Presidents, chairs of the SNA Standing Committees, State Leaders (as of 2022) and Past Industry Award recipients. Nominators may submit only one nomination each year. An acknowledgement of the nomination, a Personal Data Application and a questionnaire will be automatically forwarded to the nominee upon submission.

Because of the nature of the nomination form questions, we recommend collaborating with the nominee to complete the form. To use the collaboration feature, first click “Link to Apply” and login to Submittable. Then, watch this quick video or read this article. from Submittable outlining how to use the Manage Collaborators tool.

You’ll notice:

  • Collaborators will receive an email notification from Submittable to begin working on the form.
  • After you’ve invited collaborators, you can return to the Manage Collaborators tool to send a message to all collaborators, as well as see if their invitation is still pending or accepted. We recommend using this tool to communicate about completion status.
  • Both the submitter and collaborator can return to edit the form through your submissions homepage.
  • Only the original submitter can submit the completed form. Collaborators will receive an email notification upon submission.


The five (5) Immediate Past National Presidents of SNA and the SNA Chief Executive Officer (CEO) will select the awardee. If one or more of the five Immediate Past National Presidents of the SNA cannot serve as a judge, the next most recent Past National President shall be appointed in his/her place.

Judging Criteria

The following areas will be considered:

  • Length of SNA Membership
  • Work experience while employed by Industry
  • Service to SNA at the National Level, including Board and Committee Work and promotion of SNA membership, meetings, and initiatives
  • Attendance at and participation in SNA National Conferences and Meetings, including conference planning and conference involvement beyond exhibiting (i.e., culinary demonstrations, speaking, moderating, or facilitating sessions)
  • Actions that help promote school nutrition
  • Involvement with other groups who promote School Nutrition Programs
  • Awards and recognition of support to child nutrition and hunger advocacy
  • Attendance at and participation in State Affiliate(s) Conferences

Award Winners

Carole Erb

Frank Massabni

Wanda McDowell

Jose Quiñones

Gary Vonck

Mary Begalle

W. Mike Burke

Scott Swogger

Tracey Tinder

Stacy Sagowitz

Sean Leer

Barbara Jirka

Tony Roberts

Jill Conklin

Chuck Ainsworth

Camellia Patey

Mimi Ford

Pat McCoy

Tami Cline

Jean Harris

Shirley Brown