Innovative Solution Sessions & Tabletop Displays

Innovative Solution Sessions

Engage in meaningful dialogue with top industry professionals at three one-hour Innovative Solution Sessions on Sunday, January 21 and Monday, January 22. This is an opportunity for industry members to showcase products to key decision makers, share more about the solutions they provide and obtain valuable feedback. Simultaneously, operators will be introduced to relevant products on the market today; in multiple categories: food, beverage, supplies, services, technology and equipment.

Sunday, January 21, 11:00 am-12:00 pm

Bush’s Best Beans
Room: Studio 2
Contact: Ben Carpenter
865-558-5424
bcarpenter@bushbros.com

Beans are an amazing super food. This session will explore different and innovative ways to utilize beans to create healthier versions of kids’ favorites, power-up your sides and Smart Snacks or add mighty menu items with less prep required, all without sacrificing taste. From providing health benefits, to improving sustainability, to creating menu versatility, join us to learn how beans are a menu hero.

Jennie-O Turkey Store
Room: Studio 4
Contact: Meranda Lelonek
320-214-5841
mmlelonek@j-ots.com

There is still a great deal of confusion regarding label claims like All Natural, No Antibiotics Ever, Clean Label, Organic and more. What do they mean and what impact do they have on raising and processing poultry and the health benefits of these foods products? Join this session to gain a better understanding of how this impacts school meals.

Kellogg’s
Room: Studio 7
Contact: Kelly Grzyb
630-956-9648
kelly.o’connorgrzyb@kellogg.com

Americans are told they eat too much meat and experts are recommending more plant-based meals. From Meatless Mondays to Vegan Before 6 to Flexitarian—a significant percentage of consumers—led by Millenials and GenZ—are changing their diets to be more plant-focused for a variety of reasons. But are plant based proteins nutritious and safe for growing children? This session will explore the growing trend of plant based diets and examine nutritional adequacy in K-12 as well as visualize enticing ways to prepare veggie cuisine.

Premier Inc.
Room: Studio 6
Contact: Stacy Lofton
360-609-0076
stacy_lofton@premierinc.com

The magic of procurement begins with knowledge. Join Premier Inc., for a collaborative session “The Story of Savings: How Group Purchasing fits into a Portfolio of Solutions for Compliant Procurement” with a sampling of four essential ingredients – fair, open competitive and transparent. Positioned to be a best seller, season your student meals with the right product, in the right amount at the right price.

SunOpta
Room: Studio 9 
Contact: Mary Begalle
612-209-9643
mary.begalle@sunopta.com
 
The popularity of natural, organic and non-GMO foods is on the rise in foodservice. Sales of products with natural positioning grew between 45% - 48% from 2014 to 2016. But what does natural and organic mean? In this session, you will learn about what makes foods natural or organic and understand the trends that are affecting the way we eat.

Sunday, January 21, 2:00 pm-3:00 pm

American Egg Board
Room: Studio 6
Contact: Amanda Francese
224-563-3722
afrancese@aeb.org

In this interactive session, attendees will learn how to meet the protein and grain meal component requirement for breakfast and discover new ways to menu eggs across all nutrition programs. Our new 5 Days – 5 Ways culinary support and menu planning platform will leave you wanting a menu makeover of your own!

Nardone Brothers Baking Co.
Room: Studio 7
Contact: Vinnie Nardone
570-709-5138
vinnie@nardonespizza.com

As school nutrition operators, you know that breakfast is critical to childhood learning and health, yet many children start the school day hungry. Breakfast in the Classroom (BIC) is a proven way to help fill this gap and ensure that students start the day off ready to learn. In this session, you’ll gain a better understanding for how to implement BIC and discover ways to serve BIC more efficiently.

Potatoes USA
Room: Studio 9
Contact: Brandon Smith
916-492-5311
brandon.smith@fleishman.com

Fresh, quality food is a top priority for innovative school meal programs offering appealing meals to their customers. The limitations on labor hours and employee skill level can make running a full-scratch kitchen impractical, however. Speed scratch is an operational compromise that results in quality meals that cooks will feel proud to serve. Learn how to leverage USDA Foods, purchase key ingredients and leftovers in speed scratch menu concepts for breakfast, lunch, snack and supper programs.

PrimeroEdge
Room: Studio 2
Contact: Mark Stevenson
281-453-8515
mark.stevenson@primeroedge.com

Learn how to improve your program’s operational efficiency and increase engagement for both parents andstudents by utilizing the latest integrated technologies in school nutrition. Enhance your cafeteria staff’s productivity by simplifying and streamlining everyday processes. Discover emerging technology trends that will help connect your program to the communities you serve, increase participation, and assist your managers in their daily operations.

Schwan’s Food Service
Room: Studio 4
Contact: Wendy Osborn
952-841-2656
wendy.osborn@schwans.com

Are you interested in learning how to incorporate Asian flavors on your menu beyond stir fry kits? In this session, you will learn about Asian trends and student preferences when it comes to ethnic menu diversity. We will also cover the basics on delivering an Asian menu that works from both a nutrition and cost perspective!

Monday, January 22, 11:15 am-12:15 pm

PanSaver
Room: Studio 6
Contact: Piper Gugenheim
267-498-4031
pgugenheim@pansaver.com

Looking for tools that will help control labor, improve food quality and enhance food safety while offering consistent menu options? This session will share products that you can use in your kitchen to make your operation run more smoothly while increasing morale and ensuring consistent recipe preparation. We will also discuss solutions for food transport from a central kitchen and the benefits of food on demand vs prepare and serve.

PCS Revenue Control Systems
Room: Studio 2
Contact: Gabe Aiello
201-568-8300 ext.1146
gabe@pcsrcs.com

Participants will learn firsthand from technology specialists, dietitians and operators as they present and discuss how state-of-the art document management systems simplify and automate their business process for high volumes of complex tasks—like parent requests for student’s special diets—emphasizing the needs of parents, administrators and staff and identifying the pain points for nutrition services have led to the creation of highly customizable solutions, integrating with front and back office nutrition and district platforms.

Ruiz Foods
Room: Studio 4
Contact: Mandi Pham
559-238-5352
mandiqp@ruizfoods.com

Restaurants from McDonald’s to Panera have made moves to elevate the appeal of their kids menu. Join us as we look at the latest menu trends and emerging kid menu makeovers. We will uncover lessons from leading restaurants and present solutions that foodservice directors can apply to their daily menu to help elevate menu appeal and keep students coming back for more.

SFSPac Food Safety & Sanitation System
Room: Studio 9
Contact: Chuck Ainsworth
800-289-7725
support@sfspac.com

Education opportunities that meet USDA Professional Standards come from many different places: annual in-service events, industry websites, YouTube videos, conferences, webinars, etc. School districts need one centralized location to manage each employee’s progress. Learn about SFSPac’s solution to efficiently track district-wide education in one place, including USDA Key Areas and Training Topics. Create or integrate existing courses and, with one click, assign them to the district, a school or select individuals.

Wild Blueberry Commission of Maine
Room: Studio 7
Contact: Ronald Adams
207-749-2929
radams@wildblueberries.com

Fruit is a key piece of your meal planning puzzle—learn how to amp up your menu and let fruit go wild with new recipes to boost student interest and participation. You will learn how nutrition programs can save on serving costs, improve participation, address operational concerns and meet USDA requirements by choosing USDA Commodity Wild Blueberries. Ourexperts will show you practical and inspirational menu ideas with recipe demonstrations that will enhance your program. Welcome to the wild side!


Tabletop Displays

Also, don’t miss the Tabletop Displays and Networking Lunch on Monday, January 22. Operators will have the opportunity to view a variety of displays to pinpoint the latest goods and technology to help their school foodservice program be its best. Industry representatives from participating organizations will join operators for lunch and then showcase their products, meet and answer questions, obtain feedback about their product or service and generate quality leads.

The following companies will be participating in the Tabletop Displays (as of December 7, 2017):

American Egg Board
Amanda Francese
224-563-3722
afrancese@aeb.org  

Basic American Foods
Quentin Layne
925-472-4265
qlayne@baf.com  

Cebev, LLC
Bill Towler
918-830-4417
btowler@cebev.com  

ConAgra Foodservice
Tina Bulle
937-440-2958
tina.bulle@conagra.com  

Cool School Café
Alyssa Barker
800-468-3287
support@coolschoolcafe.com  

Cool Tropics
Bill Crosby
781-357-1210
bcrosby@cool-tropics.com  

Country Pure Foods
Joe Koch
(860) 872 8346 x228
jkoch@juice4u.com  

Diversified Foods
Pat Logan
734-536-7921
plogan@diversifiedfoods.com  

Domino's Pizza, LLC
Tom Wright
734-882-4936
tom.wright@dominos.com  

E S Foods
Tom Ferris
516-682-5494
tferris@esfoods.com  

Fresh Innovations, LLC
Henry Webb
813-317-0836
henryw@fresh-innovations.com  

GoGo Squeez—Materne North America
Chris Bolton
847-226-5897
chris.bolton@momgroup.com  

Green Edge Systems
Tommy Orpaz
818-825-8167
tommy.orpaz@greenedgesystems.com  

Hershey's Ice Cream
Kelly Renard
717-238-8134
renardk@hersheyicecream.com  

J&J Snack Foods Corp.
Haley Washington
856-532-6780
hwashington@jjsnack.com  

Jennie-O Turkey Store
Meranda Lelonek
320-214-5841
mmlelonek@j-ots.com  

The J.M. Smucker Company
Hilary Rossi
330-684-3994
hilary.rossi@jmsmucker.com  

JTM Provisions Co.
Carole Erb
800-626-8896
caroleerb@jtmfoodgroup.com  

Kellogg's
Kelly Grzyb
630-956-9648
kelly.o'connorgrzyb@kellogg.com  

Learning ZoneXpress
Londa Arnfelt
507-455-9076
londa@learningzonexpress.com  

Mogule Solutions
Mike Munna
985-966-8494
mike@moglesolutions.com  

Multiteria
Mary Sauer
770-753-2686
msauer@multiteriausa.com  

Nardone Brother's Pizza
Vinnie Nardone
570-709-5138
vinnie@nardonespizza.com  

National Food Group
Tara Sharpe
248-560-2326
tsharpe@nationalfoodgroup.com  

Notables
Sarah Lindberg
763-504-5426
slindberg@notables.com  

Nutrislice
Trent Hughes
855-524-3444
trent@nutrislice.com  

Pacific Northwest Canned Pear Service
Susan Renke
707-346-5056
susan@eatcannedpears.com  

Panasonic Foodservice
Jeff Plys
815-341-4639
jeff.plys@us.panasonic.com  

Pansaver
Piper Gugenheim
267-498-4031
pgugenheim@pansaver.com  

Perdue
Jennifer Armstrong
410-341-2797
jennifer.armstrong@perdue.com  

Peterson Farms
Jennifer Riegle
570-778-4744
jriegle@petersonfarmsinc.com  

Pilgrim/Gold Kist Farms
Dawnetta Miller
214-676-5449
dawnetta.miller@pilgrims.com  

Potatoes USA
Rachael Lynch
303-873-2331
rachael@potatoesusa.com  

PrimeroEdge
Mark Stevenson
281-453-8515
mark.stevenson@primeroedge.com  

Rich Products Corp.
Diana Schaefer
716-878-8597
dschaefer@rich.com  

The Safe + Fair Food Co.
Matt Blackmon
321-289-1389
matt@safeandfair.com  

School Datebooks
Dan Dienhart
800-705-7526
sales@schooldatebooks.com  

Schwan's Food Service
Wendy Osborn
952-841-2656
wendy.osborn@schwans.com  

SFSPac Food Safety & Sanitation System
Chuck Ainsworth
800-289-7725
support@sfspac.com  

Somma Foods
Vanessa Farris
214-984-3600
farrisv@sommafoods.com  

Soy Connection—United Soybean Board
Lori Pendleton
573-635-3265
lorip@communiqueinc.com  

Sterling Manufacturing
Chip Tippmann
260-203-5386
chiptippmann@gmail.com  

SunButter
Nadine Doetterl
716-667-3474
ndoetterl@roadrunner.com  

SunOpta
Mary Begalle
612-209-9643
mary.begalle@sunopta.com  

Super Bakery
Wanda McDowell
864-316-0559
wanda@superbakery.com  

Tasty Brands
Emily Moore
516-938-4588
emoore@tastybrandsk12.com  

TekVisions, Inc.
Jessica Tucker
800-466-8005
jessica.tucker@tekvisions.com  

Thermodyne Foodservice Products
Corey Johnson
260-428-2535
fluidshelf@tdyne.com  

Tyson Foods
Andrew Williams
479-290-7296
andrew.williams@tyson.com  

Ultragrain—Ardent Mills
Sarah Waller
402-301-1527
sarah.waller@ardentmills.com  

Contact Us

120 Waterfront Street, Suite 300
National Harbor, MD 20745
servicecenter@schoolnutrition.org  

Tel (301) 686-3100
Fax (301) 686-3115

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.

 

> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More