All SNA 2016 Award Winners Announced!


In honor of School Lunch Hero Day, coming up this Friday, May 6, 2016, SNA is recognizing the school nutrition professionals who have gone above and beyond this school year to serve nutritious meals to children across the country by announcing all of the SNA award winners, including the state, regional, and national winners for the SNA Employee of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Director of the Year awards.

Congratulations again to our national award winners:

Patricia Embry from Hurricane Deck Elementary in Camdenton R-III School District, Mo., who is the national winner of the Employee of the Year Award.

Bonnie Schmidt of Morris Area High School in Morris Area Schools, Minn., who is the 2016 national winner of the Manager of the Year Award.

Lucretia Chancler, MS, LDN, RD, SNS, Supervisor of Child Nutrition for St. Landry Parish School System, La., who is the national winner of the Director of the Year Award.

Below is a list of all regional winners. For a complete list of state winners, click here. All state, regional, and national SNA award winners will be recognized at the Red Carpet Awards Ceremony at SNA’s Annual National Conference in San Antonio, Texas, on Sunday, July 10, 2016, from 10:30 am-12:00 pm. Please join us to recognize these amazing individuals. Congratulations and thank you to all of our fantastic winners!

Employee of the Year:
Mideast: Carla Morehead, Marshall County Schools, West Virginia
Midwest: Patricia Embry, Camdenton R-III School District, Missouri (National winner)
Northeast: Maki Koetting, Lincoln Public Schools, Massachusetts
Southeast: Shanta Lawson, Houston County Schools, Georgia
Southwest: Rita Wobker, Paola Unified School District 368, Kansas
West: Janet Clark, Salt Lake City School District, Utah

Manager of the Year:
Mideast: Evie Hess, Vermilion Local Schools, Ohio
Midwest: Bonnie Schmidt, Morris Area Schools, Minnesota (National winner)
Northeast: Timothy Kenaley, Oyster River Cooperative School District, New Hampshire
Northwest: Jean Simmons, Everett Public Schools, Washington
Southeast: Donna Richard, Daviess County Public Schools, Kentucky
Southwest: Catherine Francois, Orleans Parish School Board, Louisiana
West: Luis Morales, Salt Lake City School District, Utah

Director of the Year:
Mideast: Teresa Baker, Raleigh County School District, West Virginia
Midwest: Susan Malesa, Menasha Joint School District, Wisconsin
Northeast: Jeanne Sheridan, SNS, Blackstone-Millville School District and Acushnet Public Schools Massachusetts
Northwest: Katherine Dumas, Bellevue School District, Washington
Southeast: Carol Young, RD, SNS, McMinn County Schools, Tennessee
Southwest: Lucretia Chancler, MS, LDN, RD, SNS, St. Landry Parish School System, Louisiana (National winner)
West: Brenda Padilla, Sacramento City Unified School District, California

For more information about the SNA Awards Program and to learn how to nominate someone for the 2016-17 school year, please visit

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More