SNA Announces Candidates for 2016 Election


This past July at SNA’s 2015 Annual National Conference (ANC), a new governance structure was approved in the bylaw amendments passed by the Delegate Assembly. In order to fully implement the approved changes, a transition nomination and election process is required. The initial slate for the Association’s 2016 election was announced at ANC following the meeting of the Leadership Development Committee (formerly the Nominating Committee). The transition process began with a Call for Nominations for seven additional positions announced in August. Nominations then closed September 25, 2015. Those positions included three At Large Directors on the Board of Directors approved in the new governance structure. In addition, there were four other positions for which the Leadership Development Committee had too few qualified candidates to establish a full, competitive slate back in July and so recruitment continued for them.

Earlier this month, the Leadership Development Committee met during Committee Days to finalize the 2016 election slate. After studying the biographical information on each candidate, as well as supporting documents such as the candidates’ goals and recommendations submitted by colleagues on their leadership competencies, the committee selected candidates to fill the remaining positions on the slate.

Candidates for the 2016 Board of Directors and the Leadership Development Committee are:


Vice President
Gay Anderson, SNS, Brandon Valley School District 49-2, Brandon, S.D.
Linda Eichenberger, SNS, Oak Hills Local School District, Cincinnati, Ohio

Debbi Beauvais, SNS, Gates Chili Central School District, Rochester, N.Y.
Dr. Cleta Long, Ed.D., SNS, Bibb County School District, Macon, Ga.

Northeast Regional Director
Gail Koutroubas, Andover Public Schools, Andover, Mass.
Curtistine Walker, Pittsburgh School District, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Northwest Regional Director
Lynne Shore, Willamina School District, Willamina, Ore.
Kaye Wetli, SNS, Riverview School District, Duvall, Wash.

At Large Director**
Lori Adkins, SNS, Oakland Schools, Waterford, Mich.
Mark Bordeau, Broome-Tioga BOCES, Endicott, N.Y.
Dr. Lilly Bouie, Ph.D., Little Rock School District, Little Rock, Ark.
Ariane Maori Shanley, South Kitsap School District, Port Orchard, Wash.

School Nutrition Employee/Manager Representative
Delene Coates, South Sanpete School District, Mount Pleasant, Utah
Donna Myers, Osceola County School District, Saint Cloud, Fla.


Mideast Region Representative
Karen Bissett, Oxford Area Community Schools, Oxford, Mich.

Midwest Region Representative
Mary Betlach, Robbinsdale School District, Robbinsdale, Minn.
Micheline Piekarski, SNS, Oak Park & River Forest High School District 200, Oak Park, Ill.

Southeast Region Representative
June Barrett, SNS, Alabama State Department of Education, Montgomery, Ala.
Linda Irby, SNS, Hampton City Public Schools, Hampton, Va.

West Region Representative
Robert Lewis, Ph.D., SNS, El Monte City School District, El Monte, Calif.
Sarah “Sally” Spero, SNS, Lakeside Union School District, Lakeside, Calif.

The winners of the 2016 election will serve on the 2016-17 Board of Directors and Leadership Development Committee. The elected Board members will now serve a three-year term. Installation will take place next July during ANC 2016 in San Antonio, Texas. The elected Leadership Development Committee members will begin their term March 1, 2016, after the election and serve a two-year term.

Biographies of candidates selected for the slate will be available to view online in early January 2016 at The election will take place in February 2016, once again using a secure online voting website. The voting will be open for only two weeks, February 15-29, instead of four weeks as in the past. This new timeline closes the historically long nine-month gap between the former October/November election and the July installation.

*As a result of the governance restructuring, the Southwest Regional Director position was removed from the 2016 ballot as an open position. The position is addressed in the transition plan for the Board of Directors described in a proviso in the new bylaws approved in July at ANC. The current Southwest Regional Director will serve three years instead of two years as a part of the transition process as the Board of Directors moves to three-year terms.

**In accordance with the bylaw proviso approved by the House of Delegates in July at ANC, the At Large Director candidate with the highest number of votes for this position will serve a 3-year term; the candidate with the second highest number of votes will serve a 2-year term; and the candidate with the third highest number of votes will serve a 1-year term.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More