USDA Grants Area Eligibility Waivers to 31 States


USDA.jpgOver the weekend, USDA’s Food and Nutrition Consumer Services (FNCS) granted eligibility waivers to 31 states. These waivers were enacted under a provision in Section 2102 of the recently enacted H.R. 6201, The Families First Coronavirus Response Act, to expand the area or number of service sites for meals.  This provision removes the requirements that the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) and Seamless Summer Option (SSO) sites must be located in those areas in which 50% or more participant are eligible for the free or reduced price meals.

States have been notified, and the USDA's COVID-19 webpage will be updated throughout the week to reflect any changes and any additional waivers that have been approved. All waivers will remain in effect until June 30, 2020, or until the expiration of the federally declared public health emergency. States that have been granted waivers include:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media
> Work With US

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More