2019 FAME Award Winners Announced


SNA extends congratulations to the six honorees of the 29th annual FAME (Foodservice Achievement Management Excellence) Awards competition. The winner of this year’s top honor, the Golden School Foodservice Director of the Year award is Kevin Ponce, SNS, School Nutrition Services Director, Oklahoma City Public Schools. Ponce was the recipient of the Silver Leadership Award in 2017. Among the other five winners is Patricia Montague, CAE, SNA Chief Executive Officer, winner of this year’s Silver Friend of Child Nutrition Award. View the press release about Montague’s honor.

The Golden award is the most prestigious in the FAME competition and is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in leadership, spirit/dedication, innovation, career awards, management systems, community involvement and bettering the lives of students. Ponce, an SNA member since 2002, served on the SNA Board of Directors as Southwest Regional Director (2014-17) and is a current member of the Leadership Development Committee. Leading the large district in Oklahoma, Ponce is a visionary leader who exemplifies collaboration and problem-solving. Among his recent achievements was procurement of a food truck to provide solutions in four distinct areas: expand meal options outside the cafeteria environment; increase summer foodservice access to students; respond to community needs in emergency situations; and provide a venue to reinforce health and wellness messages at community events.

For 30 years, the FAME Awards have been honoring school nutrition professionals who raise the industry standards by tackling challenges within their school districts and communities. This year’s FAME class includes five other outstanding individuals:

Silver Leadership Award: Alyssia Wright, Executive Director, Fulton County Schools, Atlanta, Ga.

Silver Spirit Award: Amanda Musick, Program Manager of Marketing and Grants, Pasco County Food & Nutrition Services, Land O’Lakes, Fla.

Silver Special Achievement Award: Carrie Woodruff, Food Service Director, Lima City Schools, Lima, Ohio

Silver Rising Star Award: Scott Richardson, Nutrition and Food Services Director, Warren County Board of Education, Augusta, Ga.

Silver Friend of Child Nutrition: Patricia Montague, Chief Executive Officer, School Nutrition Association, National Harbor, Md.

The selection panel is composed of the 2018 FAME winners, the SNA president and editors of related trade magazines, including School Nutrition. The 30th annual FAME Awards are sponsored by Basic American Foods.

2019 FAME Awards ceremony event is scheduled for January 13, 2019 at the JW Marriott Austin, Austin, Texas. The event is held in conjunction with SNA’s 2019 School Nutrition Industry Conference (SNIC). FAME ceremony tickets are limited; visit www.fameawards.net for details.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media
> Work With US

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More