2019 SNA Election Ballot Announcement


The SNA Leadership Development Committee met during the 2018 Fall Committee Days in Alexandria, Va., last week to review nominations for positions on the SNA Board of Directors, Leadership Development Committee and Industry Advisory Council. After reviewing the biographical information on each candidate, as well as supporting documents such as the candidate’s goals and the recommendations submitted by colleagues on leadership experience and competencies, the Committee selected a slate for the 2019 election ballot.

Based on succession planning risk concerns, the Board of Directors made a recommendation to the 2018 Delegate Assembly that the position of Vice President be reinstated in SNA’s governance structure. The Delegate Assembly voted to approve this bylaws amendment in July. In order to facilitate this change, the 2019 election includes positions for both President-Elect and Vice President. This is the only year that both positions will be on the ballot.

SNA is pleased to announce the 2019 election ballot:

Candidates for the six open positions on the Board of Directors:

Sara Gasiorowski, SNS, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indiana
Reginald Ross, SNS, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, North Carolina

Vice President
Lori Adkins, SNS, Oakland Schools, Michigan
Beth Wallace, SNS, Jefferson County School District, Colorado

Northeast Regional Director
Karen Castaneda, MBA, RD, LDN, Lower Merion School District, Pennsylvania
Warren DeShields, Bridgeton Public Schools, New Jersey

Northwest Regional Director
Bobbie Coleman, Lake Pend Oreille School District #84, Idaho
Lynne Shore, Willamina School District 30J, Oregon

At Large Director
Chris Derico, SNS, Lewis County School District, West Virginia
Shannon Gleave, RDN, SNS, Glendale Elementary School District, Arizona

School Nutrition Employee/Manager Section Chair
Shannon Nowak, Fargo Public School District, North Dakota
Ruby Privett, Uinta County School District 01, Wyoming

Candidates for the three open positions on the Leadership Development Committee:

Northeast Regional Representative
Maria Hall, MS, RD, SNS, Walpole School District, Massachusetts
Jeanne Pierce, SNS, Exeter Region Cooperative, New Hampshire

Northwest Regional Representative
Linda Martin, Sweetwater County School District 02, Wyoming
Pamela Suyematsu, SNS, Ontario School District 008, Oregon

Southwest Region Representative
Dolores Sutterfield, Harrisburg School District, Arkansas

Candidates for the Chair of the Industry Advisory Council:

Mike Burke, SNS, ITW/FEG
Sean Leer, Gold Star Foods Inc.

Biographies of candidates selected for the ballot will be available to view online in early January 2019. The election will be held February 15-28, 2019.

The elected candidates for the positions on the Board of Directors will be installed in July 2019 at ANC. The elected candidates for positions on the Leadership Development Committee begin their terms on March 1, 2019 to coincide with the annual nominations and election calendar.

Congratulations and good luck to all the ballot candidates! Stay tuned to www.schoolnutrition.org/snaelection for further updates on the 2019 election!

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media
> Work With US

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More