Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes

Third Annual Celebration in 2016

The 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes will be held on Monday, February 29, 2016 at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, DC. The event held during SNA’s Legislative Action Conference (LAC) will be the third annual celebration of the extraordinary men and women in the school nutrition profession.

The Celebration supports the School Nutrition Foundation as the Foundation provides professional development and education, supports research to establish “best practices” in school nutrition, and offers scholarships to SNA members to advance their formal education. 

Nominate a School Nutrition Hero

Please consider nominating a School Nutrition Hero for recognition in 2016. Heroes are those men and women who go beyond their daily responsibilities to make a difference in their schools, their communities, and beyond. To review the criteria, click here. To secure a nomination form, click here.

Sponsor the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes                              

The level of sponsorship of the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes will determine in large part the net revenue from the event that can be used for education, research, and scholarships for SNA members in the coming year.  

AdvancePierre Foods has made a commitment to be the Premier Sponsor for the 2016 Celebration!

Only four other top spots are available for sponsors – at the benefactor level. AdvancePierre Foods and the four benefactors will escort the five School Nutrition Heroes into the ballroom that evening and will receive maximum visibility from the event. 

Sign up soon! These top spots will be on a first come- first serve basis. Don’t miss this opportunity!

For information on sponsorships and the recognition at each level, click here

To indicate your commitment as a sponsor, click here.  

Other opportunities to support the event include: 

  • Celebrate a School Nutrition Hero:  $2,500
    Create a one-page tribute to a school nutrition hero including a photo of that person and a description of how this school nutrition hero has made a positive impact on school nutrition.

  • Individual tickets:
    • School Nutrition Professionals - $150
    • Industry Members - $250

  • Advertise in the event tribute book:
    • Full-page        $2,500
    • Half-page       $1,500
    • Quarter-page $750
      • For more information, please email  snf@schoolnutrition.org.

        The 2015 School Nutrition Heroes. Click here for more photos from the 2015 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes.

        2015 School Nutrition Heroes

        A total of 27 nominations were submitted for consideration for the School Nutrition Heroes. The nominees represented 16 states and included school nutrition professionals from every region. The 2015 School Nutrition Heroes are:

          Coletta Hines-Newell, SNS
        Director of Food Services
        Arlington Heights School District 25
        Arlington Heights, Ill.
        View Video | Download Video  
          Jill Kidd, MS, RD, SNS
        Director of Nutrition Services
        Pueblo City Schools
        Pueblo, Colo.
        View Video | Download Video  
          Cathy Potter
        Cafeteria Server/Helper
        Maryville City Schools
        Maryville, Tenn.
        View Video | Download Video  
          Robert Rusan
        District Chef
        Maplewood Richmond Heights School District
        Maplewood, Mo.
        View Video | Download Video  
          Nancy Younglove
        Food Service Director
        North Rose – Wolcott Central Schools
        Wolcott, N.Y.
        View Video | Download Video  

        Watch for information about the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes! Plan to join us on Monday, February 29, 2016, at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C., as we recognize the extraordinary men and women in the school nutrition profession.

        For more information, please email snf@schoolnutrition.org.

        2015 Sponsors of the Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes

        The sponsors of the 2015 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes provided leadership to the event. Their sponsorship dollars contributed to the success of the Celebration and will make a difference for SNA members in the coming year as the Foundation supports education and professional development, supports research, and offers scholarships. 


        Premier Sponsor

        AccuTemp Products, Inc.
        Jennie-O Turkey Store
        KeyImpact Sales & Systems
        Land O’ Lakes Dairy Foods
        National Dairy Council
        Foster Farms Foodservice
        School Nutrition Association
        Schwan’s Food Service

        ConAgra Food Service
        HOPCO Foodservice Marketing
        J & J Snack Foods
        Los Cabos Mexican Foods
        PepsiCo Foodservice
        Red Gold

      Contact Us

      120 Waterfront Street, Suite 300
      National Harbor, MD 20745

      Tel (301) 686-3100
      Fax (301) 686-3115

      > For The Media

      Sign Up for Our Newsletters

      Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


      > Read the Latest Newsletters

      SNA State Associations

      The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

      > Learn More