2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes

The 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes was held on Monday, February 29, 2016, at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C. The event, held during SNA’s Legislative Action Conference (LAC), was the third annual celebration of the extraordinary men and women in the school nutrition profession who make a difference in the lives of school children and go beyond their daily responsibilities in making a significant contribution to their communities. The event is the only fundraising event that the School Nutrition Foundation holds and the evening is essential to securing funding for the scholarships that the Foundation provides to SNA members annually.

SNF's 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes
The 2016 School Nutrition Heroes. For more photos from the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes, click here.

2016 School Nutrition Heroes

A total of 36 nominations were submitted for consideration for the 2016 School Nutrition Heroes. The nominees represented 21 states and included school nutrition professionals from six of the seven SNA regions. Each nominee is a School Nutrition Hero and choosing just five to recognize is a difficult task. But the Selection Committee selected the following members to represent the many School Nutrition Heroes who go above and beyond their responsibilities in their schools and districts:

2016 School Nutrition Hero Chris Burkhardt   Chris Burkhardt, SNS
Director of Child Nutrition & Wellness
Lakota Local School District
Liberty Township, Ohio
View Video
2016 School Nutrition Hero Sandra Hearn   Sandra Hearn
Cafeteria Manager
Vicksburg Warren School District
Vicksburg, Miss.
View Video
2016 School Nutrition Hero Jody Houston   Jody Houston, SNS
Food Services Director
Corpus Christi Independent School District
Corpus Christi, Texas
View Video
2016 School Nutrition Hero Samantha Ingram   Samantha Ingram
Child Nutrition Manager
Samson Elementary, Geneva County Schools
Samson, Ala.
View Video
2016 School Nutrition Hero Suellen Smith   Suellen Smith
Cafeteria Manager
Zephyrhills High School, Pasco County Schools
Zephyrllis, Fla.
View Video

Sponsors of the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes

Sponsorship of the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes is a significant factor in securing revenue from the event that can be used for scholarships for SNA members in the coming year. 

The following were sponsors for the 2016 Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes:

Premier Sponsor
AdvancePierre Sponsor of the Celebration of School Nutrition Heroes  

AccuTemp Products, Inc.
Foster Farms
Jennie-O Turkey Store
KeyImpact Sales & Systems
Land O’ Lakes Dairy Foods
Los Cabos Mexican Foods
National Dairy Council
Schwan’s Food Service Inc.

School Nutrition Association
SFSPac Food Safety & Sanitation System
Acosta Sales and Marketing
ConAgra Foodservice
Cool School Café
The CORE Group
J&J Snack Foods Corp.
Lamb Weston
Michael Foods-Dakota Growers
PepsiCo Foodservice
Red Gold LLC
Ruiz Foods

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More