2017 FAME Award Winners Announced


Submit Your Nomination for the FAME Awards

Executive Director Betti Wiggins, CPM, SNS, Office of School Nutrition, Detroit (Mich.) Public Schools, has been named the 2017 Golden School Foodservice Director of the Year in the annual FAME (Foodservice Achievement Management Excellence) Awards competition. The FAME Awards are presented to outstanding leaders, recognizing them for achievement, innovation and service.

The Golden School Foodservice Director, the most prestigious honor in the FAME competition, demonstrates outstanding achievement in leadership, spirit/dedication, innovation, career awards, management systems, humanitarianism/community involvement and bettering the lives of students.

Wiggins is an outspoken advocate for children and is considered by peers to be a skilled collaborator and community leader. Her career began in Ann Arbor, Mich. with Marriott Corporation. From there, she went to work in the school nutrition industry in Patterson, N.J., Baltimore, Md. and Washington, D.C. before returning to Detroit. She was a staunch supporter of improving nutrition standards long before the enactment of the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act. She works with the Detroit School Garden Collaborative and Drew Farm to grow and serve fresh vegetables in the school district she serves. The two-acre Drew Farm was Wiggins’ creation and is part of the Drew Transition Center, a Detroit Public School serving 18-26-year-old students with cognitive and physical disabilities.

Wiggins’s work in the nutrition industry has only just begun. Her latest project is the development of the Kettering Food Enterprise Center. It’s a $20 million project with goals to create the Food Enterprise Development Corporation, a non-profit community development raising funds to develop the former Kettering High School campus into a food business park.

Additional 2017 FAME Award winners include:

  • Silver Leadership Award: Kevin Ponce, SNS, school nutrition services director, Oklahoma City (Okla.) Public Schools
  • Silver Spirit Award: Daniel Ellnor, BA, C.P.-F.S., manager, Nutrition Service Center, Jefferson County Public Schools, Louisville, Ky.
  • Silver Special Achievement Award: Gay Anderson, SNS, district child nutrition director, Brandon (S.D.) Valley 49-2
  • Silver Rising Star Award: Meredith Potter, RD, SNS, MBA, school nutrition director, Houston County Board of Education, Perry, Ga.
  • Silver Friend of Child Nutrition: Shirley Brown, director of K-12 product training, Rich Products Corporation, Fresno, Calif.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on January 22, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency Orlando, Orlando, Fla., the site of SNA’s 2017 School Nutrition Industry Conference (SNIC). FAME event tickets can be obtained by visiting www.fameawards.net. For event updates throughout the year, visit www.fameawards.net or www.facebook.com/fameawards.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More