2018 FAME Award Winners Announced


Submit Your Nomination for the FAME Awards

SNA extends congratulations to the six honorees of the 29th annual FAME (Foodservice Achievement Management Excellence) Awards competition. The winner of this year’s top honor, the Golden School Foodservice Director of the Year award, is Lauren Teng, Administrator of Food and Nutrition Services, Huntington Beach Union School District, Huntington Beach, California. This award, the most prestigious in the FAME competition, is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in leadership, spirit/dedication, innovation, career awards, management systems, community involvement and bettering the lives of students.

Teng, a 34-year veteran school nutrition director, has built on a long history of forward-thinking methods to improve school meals in her community. In the face of declining enrollment, she has grown her program by evolving traditional service channels. This includes changing lunch period schedules, introducing mobile food carts, purchasing a food truck, opening an on-campus coffee house and coordinating innovative cafeteria-classroom collaborations that link nutrition to the core curriculum. In fact, Teng is an instructor at the district’s annual “Summer Institute,” helping teachers gain the proper training and tools needed to implement nutrition education initiatives.

Five other outstanding school nutrition professionals also are being recognized for their innovations and achievements. These winners include:

Silver Leadership Award: Chris Burkhardt, SNS, Executive Director, Food and Child Nutrition Services, Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Cleveland, Ohio

Silver Spirit Award: Karen Hallford, MS, RD, LD, Assistant Director, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Suwanee, Georgia

Silver Special Achievement Award: Sally Spero, SNS, Director of Nutrition, Lakeside Union School District, Lakeside, California

Silver Rising Star Award: Kelly Schlein, Nutrition Services Director, Richmond County School District, Augusta, Georgia

Silver Friend of Child Nutrition: Beth Mincemoyer Egan, Senior Instructor, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania

The selection panel is comprised of the 2017 winners, the SNA presidents and editors of related trade magazines, including School Nutrition. The 29th annual FAME Awards are sponsored by Basic American Foods, Schwan’s Food Service, Inc., and Tyson Foods, Inc.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on January 21, 2018 at the Roosevelt Hotel, in New Orleans, La. The event is held in conjunction with SNA’s 2018 School Nutrition Industry Conference. FAME ceremony tickets can be obtained by visiting www.fameawards.net.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More