Innovative Solution Sessions & Tabletop Displays

Innovative Solution Sessions

Engage in meaningful dialogue with top industry professionals at three one-hour Innovative Solution Sessions. During these exciting sessions, 15 organizations will share their school nutrition expertise, showcase products and obtain valuable feedback. Simultaneously, operators will be introduced to new trends and innovative products on the market today designed to improve the success of your school nutrition program.

Sunday, January 22, 11:00 am–12:00 pm

American Egg Board
Room: Celebration 16
(Convention Level)
Contact: Amanda Francese
847-296-7043
afrancese@aeb.org

Join the Eggs in Schools Rule discussion and learn how the American Egg Board’s online Resource Library is significantly growing and can support your efforts to serve eggs in schools. Share your eggscellent successes or what’s got you cracking up with the eggsperts and your school nutrition community. Topic areas include: NEW website – AEB.org/Schools, Eggs as a Smart Snack, Success Stories, Recipe Development, How-to Video Demonstrations and Social Media Outreach—#eggsinschools.

Foster Farms
Room: Celebration 12
(Convention Level)
Contact: Jeff Jarchow
209-394-6487
jeff.jarchow@fosterfarms.com

Clean ingredient labeling is a hot topic in school food nutrition today. Everyone wants foods simpler, cheaper, cleaner and better, but there are tradeoffs in these decisions. Learn about label trends, implications to costs and schools, and how Foster Farm’s is addressing cleaner labels in the Fernando’s portfolio.

Notables
Room: Celebration 15
(Convention Level)
Contact: Sarah Lindberg
763-504-5400
slindberg@notables.com

Learn how you can provide critical nutrition within afterschool programs to children at risk through the implementation of an afterschool meal program.

PrimeroEdge
Room: Celebration 13
(Convention Level)
Contact: Mark Stevenson
713-202-7235
mark.stevenson@primeroedge.com

Learn how to improve your program’s operational efficiency and increase family engagement by utilizing the latest technologies in school nutrition. Boost your cafeteria staff’s productivity by simplifying and streamlining everyday processes. Uncover emerging technology and trends that will help connect your program to the community you serve, increase participation, and assist your managers in their daily operations.

Schwan’s Food Service Inc.
Room: Celebration 14
(Convention Level)
Contact: Mary Begalle
612-209-9643
mary.begalle@schwans.com

Gen Z is the most diverse, multicultural generation driving demand for ethnic flavor variety and international cuisine. This session will illustrate examples of how this trend is coming to life. The Schwan Chef Collective has incorporated these trends with USDA foods and a lean pantry to create ethnic favorites.

Sunday, January 22, 2:00 pm–3:00 pm

AdvancePierre Foods
Room: Celebration 12
(Convention Level)
Contact: Jennifer Roumani
513-265-5610
jennifer.roumani@advancepierre.com

Laser focus on school food nutrition has created gaps in creativity and flavor, leading to student fatigue and reduced ATP. Session attendees will explore current food trends both inside and outside the cafeteria to identify ways to revitalize and update menus within current school guidelines. Varied skill-level recipes and ready-to-eat products will be showcased to reflect how simple changes can make big differences to reflects student eating trends.

Kellogg’s
Room: Celebration 14
(Convention Level)
Contact: David Grotto
630-956-9754
david.grotto@kellogg.com

Clean, Processed and Natural...OH MY! In 2015, Kellogg Foundation research showed that 9 out of 10 Americans support national nutrition standards for school meals. However, school food service operators have come under increased pressure to serve less “processed” and more “clean labeled” foods, regardless if they comply with school feeding programs under Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act. This session will demystify “processed” and provide insight to food production from farm to bowl and its impact on the nutrition quality of foods served in schools today.

LTI
Room: Celebration 16
(Convention Level)
Contact: Mike Purcell
770-478-8803
mpurcell@lowtempind.com

Come learn about the hottest trends and designs in retail foodservice and how you can incorporate quick-serve concepts into your school. Discover innovative solutions proven to drive an increase in participation and a decrease in wait time for students. Learn how LTI can help you create the entire retail experience, including serving counters, serving technologies, on-trend concepts with recipes and procedures along with interior decor, menus and seating. See it live with a chef’s serving counter set up, food assembly, merchandising and serving.

Nutrislice
Room: Celebration 13
(Convention Level)
Contact: Michael Craig
650-745-5003
mike@nutrislice.com

Mobile ordering for your high school students? Change the way you interact with high school students by providing an ordering platform that allows them to pre-order, customize, and speed up the lunch line! We will demo, share best practices, and give you a strong desire to be one of the most innovative districts in the country. If you want to be ahead of the curve, this is a session you cannot miss!

Somma Food Group
Room: Celebration 15
(Convention Level)
Contact: Michael Turley
479-422-9381
turleym@sommafoods.com

All natural. Antibiotic free. Organic. What do today’s consumers want in their food? With millennials continually raising expectations of the products they consume, the pressure is on to serve items that are on the forefront of innovation and health advancements. Come learn how to decipher the latest research on consumer trends and demands beyond flavor, and discover the new generation of food solutions.

Monday, January 23, 2:30 pm–3:30 pm

Cool Tropics
Room: Celebration 13
(Convention Level)
Contact: Frank Massabni
800-510-8890
frank@cool-tropics.com

“How can we create more excitement in school lunch?” This is a common question facing school food service operators today. Find out how to grow tray line participation by 10-15% and boost a la carte sales through innovative Smart Snack offerings. This session will demonstrate ideas to strengthen student engagement through marketing, branding and industry partnering.

Food Service Management Solutions LLC & Learning ZoneXpress
Room: Celebration 16
(Convention Level)
Contact: Jean Ronnei, SNS
651-262-4807
jean@fsmgtsolutions.com

Learn how a “Fresh Eyes” review of your program will put you on the path to building a menu and image your students and community expect. Learn practical steps to creating a flexible cycle menu that honors what is important to your program—and forgo the usual drudgery of menu planning, analysis and record keeping! Your “brand” can come to light with front of the house marketing tools that won’t break the bank!

Pinnacle Foods
Room: Celebration 15
(Convention Level)
Contact: Joe Saporito
856-969-7135
joseph.saporito@pinnaclefoods.com

Learn the difference between a gluten allergy and Celiac. Learn how to manage a gluten allergy in a whole grain world. How does this comply with the USDA regulations? Learn what steps you can take to ensure best practices for a “gluten free” zone in your kitchen.

Ruiz Food Products
Room: Celebration 12
(Convention Level)
Contact: Mandi Pham
559-238-5352
mandiqp@ruizfoods.com

Do you feel like you have exhausted all of your menu ideas on how to grab your students’ attention? Come join us to collaborate, listen and share ideas on ways to engage your students and menu the most appealing ideas. We’ll look at ways to get students more involved, solicit their candid feedback and learn how to incorporate an exciting event to launch new products on your campus.

SunButter
Room: Celebration 14
(Convention Level)
Contact: Nadine Doetterl
716-954-3069
ndoetterl@roadrunner.com

Did you know that sunflower seed butter can be used for more than just sandwiches? Learn how sunflower seeds can expand your menu options not only for your allergic and vegetarian customers, but for ALL of your customers. Explore the resources available including recipes and beyond. Come learn new strategies for introducing new foods to your customers.



Tabletop Showcase

Also, don’t miss the Tabletop Showcase and Networking Luncheon on Monday, January 23. Companies will display new products or services available from their organizations. This is the perfect occasion to join colleagues and industry partners and share experiences, converse about challenges and successes, renew friendships and build lasting business relationships. (This participant list is current as of December 1, 2016.)

The following companies will be participating in the Tabletop Showcase
Room: Windermere Ballroom YZ (Convention Level)

AdvancePierre Foods
Contact: Jennifer Roumani
(513) 265-5610
jennifer.roumani@advancepierre.com

American Egg Board
Contact: Amanda Francese
(847) 296-7043
afrancese@aeb.org

Cebev, LLC
Contact: Bill Towler
(918) 830-4417
btowler@cebev.com

ConAgra Foodservice
Contact: Tina Bulle
(937) 440-2958
tina.bulle@conagrafoods.com

Cool School Café
Contact: Richard Provo
(763) 262-3150
rprovo@realtime-solutions.com

Cool Tropics
Contact: Frank Massabri
(800) 510-8890
frank@cool-tropics.com

Country Pure Foods
Contact: Joe Koch
(800) 995-8423
joek@juice4u.com

Diversified Foods Inc.
Contact: Pat Logan
(734) 536-7921
plogan@diversifiedfoods.com

Domino’s
Contact: Ashley Vella
(734) 930-3106
ashley.vella@dominos.com

Food Service Management Solutions LLC
Contact: Jean Ronnei, SNS
(651) 262-4807
jean@fsmgtsolutions.com

Green Edge Systems Menu Boards
Contact: Tommy Orpaz
(818) 825-8167
tommy.orpaz@GreenEdgeSystems.com

Harris School Solutions
Contact: Michael Higgins
(910) 262-8457
MHiggins@harriscomputer.com

J&J Snack Foods Corp.
Contact: Damon Williams
(856) 532-6780
dwilliams@jjsnack.com

Jennie-O Turkey Store
Contact: Renee Cool
(320) 231-2296
rlcool@j-ots.com

JM Smuckers
Contact: Megan Ridenour
(330) 684-3264
megan.ridenour@jmsmucker.com

JTM Provisions Co.
Contact: Carol Erb
(800) 626-2308
caroleerb@jtmfoodgroup.com

KapStone Paper & Packaging
Contact: Hal White
(843) 568-6974
hal.white@kapstonepaper.com

Learning ZoneXpress
Contact: Londa Arnfelt
(507) 455-9076
londa@learningzonexpress.com

Meal Viewer
Contact: Tommy Wafford
(803) 380-5538
tommy@mealviewer.com

Meals Plus
Contact: Liz Poesel
(800) 541-8999
liz@mealsplus.com

Milton’s Baking
Contact: Lisa Garrucho
(858) 350-9696 x 151
lgarrucho@miltonsbaking.com

Mogle Solutions, LLC
Contact: Mike Munna
(985) 966-8494
mike@moglesolutions.com

Multiteria
Contact: Mary Sauer
(630) 585-1369
msauer@multiteriausa.com

Nardone Brothers Baking
Contact: Vincent Nardone
(570) 823-0141
vjn1@att.net

Contact Us

120 Waterfront Street, Suite 300
National Harbor, MD 20745
servicecenter@schoolnutrition.org  

Tel (301) 686-3100
Fax (301) 686-3115

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.

 

> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More