Exam Content and Knowledge Areas


The SNS Credentialing Program entails the passing of a standardized national exam. The SNS exam tests candidates on the job competencies performed and knowledge needed by a School Nutrition Specialist. The exam covers 9 Content/Knowledge Areas. The following table shows each content/knowledge area and the percentage of exam questions taken from each area:



 1. Facilities, Technology and Equipment Management


 2. Financial Management


 3. Food Production and Operation Management


 4. Food Security, Sanitation, & Safety


 5. Human Resource Management


 6. Marketing and Communication


 7. Menu and Nutrition Management


 8. Procurement and Inventory Management


 9. Program Management and Accountability


Individuals who successfully pass the exam will be awarded the designation of School Nutrition Specialist (SNS).

 Average 4 out of 5

Contact Us Advertise on SNA Site Map Media Center Privacy Policy

© 2000 - 2014 School Nutrition Association, All Rights Reserved