Members of Congress Line up to Sponsor House Versions of “Sensible School Meals Act”

Support for the Sensible School Meals Act continues to grow as additional Members of Congress announce support for House versions of S. 427.  On Tuesday, March 19, Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3) and Tom Cotton (AR-4) of the Arkansas House Delegation introduced one version of the Senate bill, which is also co-cosponsored by Senator Pryor of Arkansas. Their version focuses on making permanent the grain and protein flexibility. In addition, SNA has been working with Congressman Steve Stivers (R-OH) and Congresswoman Marcia Fudge (D-OH) in introducing a modified version of S. 427 on Thursday, March 21. Their version will also include language addressing Section 205 of the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act by allowing local school food authorities and local school boards to set the price of a “paid” meal where the program is being well managed.  Representatives Stivers and Fudge are circulatingthe attached “Dear Colleague” letter to garner further bi-partisan support.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More