Action Alert for Proposed Legislation in Senate and House

Help us in providing healthy school meals each day.  Contact your Senators and Member of Congress and ask them to cosponsor S. 427 or H.R. 1303.  For a form letter that you can send or revise and send, click here.

As you may know, Senators John Hoeven (R-ND), Dan Coats (R-IN), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), James Inhofe (R-OK), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Pat Roberts (R-KS), John Thune (R-SD), and Roger Wicker (R-MS) introduced S. 427, the “Sensible School Lunch Act,” which would amend the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act (HHFKA) by eliminating the weekly maximums for grains and meat/meat alternates. SNA staff worked with Senator Hoeven’s staff on drafting the legislation which would permanently resolve the first point on SNA’s 2013 Legislative Issue Paper.  The full text of S. 427 can be found here.

Also, Members of Congress Steve Stivers (R-OH), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Frederica Wilson (D-FL), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Trent Franks (R-AZ), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Patrick Tiberi (R-OH), Jim Renacci (R-OH), Loretta Sanchez (D-CA),  and Doc Hastings (R-WA) have introduced a bill that will makes the USDA revisions to grains and protein permanent.  Here is the text of H.R. 1303.   

Again, here is the link to reach out to your Senators and House Member.

Contact Us

2900 S. Quincy Street, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22206  

Tel (703) 824-3000
Fax (703) 824-3015

> For The Media

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Read the latest news and developments facing the school nutrition industry, as well as stay on top of important trends and resources.


> Read the Latest Newsletters

SNA State Associations

The School Nutrition Association has a presence in every state across the country. View links to many of the state associations to find out more about what SNA is doing nationwide. 

> Learn More